The 2015 Special Olympics Manitoba Team, Athletes and Coaches Of The Year

Congratulations to the 2015 Special Olympics Manitoba female athlete, male athlete, female coach, team and male coach of the year!

Team of the Year - TIGER FIRE FLOOR HOCKEY, Parkland Region

Formed in 2010, the Tiger Fire Floor Hockey Team from Swan River has shown great growth, determination and improvement. Made up of athletes, Andrew Brass, Joseph Cook, Angie Ferland, Carter Formo, Jarret Gingra, Allan Ross, Brennan Sauder, John Schabert, Jeremy Stephen, Kipp Terry, Rickey Zimmer, Allison Landel, Ron Legall, Kendall Leslie and Kolton Leslie this team trained hard and competed at the 2015 Provincial Winter Games this past February. Coached by June Mosiondz, Doreen Miles and supported by Bryan McCorrister, the team represents Parkland Region proudly!

Male Athlete of the Year - RYAN KNEISZ

For over 19 years, Ryan Kneisz has trained and competed with Special Olympics Manitoba in the sports of figure skating, speed skating, snowshoeing, floor hockey and athletics; focusing primarily on athletics. In 2010 Ryan first competed in the pentathlon at the national level, winning a gold medal and at spot on the National Team competing in the 2011 Special Olympics World Summer Games in Athens, Greece. Improving on his 2010 performance, Ryan once again won gold, this time at the 2014 National Games in Vancouver. As a result, he was a member of Team Canada and won gold at the 2015 Special Olympics World Summer Games in Los Angeles this past July.

Female Athlete of the Year - ASHLEY WILWAND

Ashley Wilwand has been training in rhythmic gymnastics for over 9 years. Early on in her career, she was selected to the provincial team and represented Manitoba at the 2010 Special Olympics Canada National Summer Games in London, Ontario bringing home a silver medal.

Four years later, Ashley expanded her training and won gold at this past July in Vancouver, earning her a spot on the National Team where she brought home one gold medal, three silver medals and one bronze medal from the 2015 Special Olympics World Summer Games in Los Angeles.

Female Coach of the Year - JANICE HOWE

Janice Howe has been coaching with Special Olympics Manitoba since 2009. During that time, she became the head coach for the Navvies Track Club in Winnipeg. Her commitment to her development as a coach has been exceptional; always interested in expanding her knowledge and experience. This past year, Janice took on the role of Head Coach for our Western Canada Summer Games Team; with athletes achieving both personal bests and the podium. In addition, Janice was a training coach supporting Team Canada track athlete, Ryan Kneisz, in his preparation for the Special Olympics World Summer Games in LA.

Male Coach of the Year - CAM SWEETMAN

Cam Sweetman is a relatively new volunteer with Special Olympics Manitoba, taking on coaching with the Dolphins Swim Club in Winnipeg. Cam is a very knowledgeable coach and prides himself on knowing exactly what is the best way to work with each and everyone one of his athletes so that they have success.

His work ethic, drive and determination compliment his passion to create opportunities for the individuals around him.